VASmalltalk, Wine and Mac OSX

I got my first Christmas present on Wednesday – a Mac Mini, running under Mac OS X. I never had a Macintosh computer before and therefore its a complete new world for me.

My first impression was: nice and smart. Installation went pretty well, but the Mac Mini smells after opening in the air like cheap plastic.

After the first evening I started to look for development tools – first I looked for Smalltalk.

VASmalltalk

The windows version is in general runnable under Wine under Mac OSX 10.6. I was not able to run the normal installation, but I zipped my original Windows based installation and copied the installation under the “Wine Files” folder under my Mac account.

Then I changed abt.ini according to my Mac Wine settings and copies abt.icx and abt.ini into the bin folder.

Then the system started without problems, connecting to ENVY working without problems.

This entry was posted in Smalltalk and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.