VASmalltalk – Intellisense

tc asked about Intellisense in VASmalltalk.

Perhaps I would do it in another way – and I have already done some work in this direction.

* first I would concentrate on two platforms: Linux and Windows. Solaris (Sparc) is more or less on the way fading away – simply due to the fact, that after SUN was bought by Oracle I see no other real important Sparc source any more. Well and Solaris und i386 is not supported by VA.
* then I would use a native control and I would use Scintilla for this new browser. I think, that Dolphin also used this control.

At vastgoodies I published first code to wrap this control and I think, that the performance of this widget is very good (suitable for large colored methods) and the look and feel is also very good.

And the control supports all features I need: coloring syntax and syntax formatting support, pop-up menu support suitable for intellisense and folding support (which may not be needed for VA). License is free and suitable for a product.

Ok, due this control I see no real technical control oriented problems – but I was more investigating on the possibility to annotate my methods to give Intellisense a more concrete information. I looked at the pragma support introduced with 8.0.2, but they are very restrictive in terms of syntax and usability.

This domain gives me more problems than just the control.

This entry was posted in Smalltalk. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

