VASmalltalk – Ubuntu 12.04 LTS and VA 8.5.1

I’ve created a virtual machine for VirtualBox for having an installation of Ubuntu 12.04 (which is the newest long term support version) together with VASmalltalk 8.5.1.

You may download it from here as version 0.

Some words about the installation:

-> LTS 12.04 right away from the CD – no patches are installed.
-> The system has an auto logon after booting
-> The user name is “vasmalltalk” and so is the password.
-> by default the system uses file based repository and the directory of the manager.dat is write enabled
-> The system has been set to German as the first language
-> The user local installation can be found in the VA851 directory of your home directory
-> Just execute “abt” in that directory to get your demo installation run
-> The locale has been set to “de_DE.ISO-8859-15@euro” (llok at the beginning of the abt file), so that I can use the same repository (from Windows and Linux) and all characters are shown without problems.

This entry was posted in Smalltalk. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to VASmalltalk – Ubuntu 12.04 LTS and VA 8.5.1

  1. Sam says:

    Hello everyone,
    I am learning Smalltalk. I am not sure how do I initiate new thread and just posting my queries here in this thread. I apologies for that.
    I am trying to insert pdf or image files in oracle BLOB field. Its working fine if the file size is less than 32KB. If its more than 32 KB size its only inserting up to 32 KB of data. I am not sure what I am making mistake over here. I did check the length of data prior to insert I see entire data (around 100KB) When I retrieve data from BLOB I got only 34047 bytes (always),

    I did not get any error message though.

    I am using VAST 5 and oracle 8i

    Here is my routine..
    I really appreciated if any one help me to get this works or suggestion.
    ======
    Table definition
    “blob_table table has 3 column of( ID number , BODY BLOB, SUBJECT (varchar2).”
    ” ID NUMBER NOT NULL,
    SUBJECT VARCHAR2(256) NULL,
    BODY BLOB NULL

    ====
    | logonSpec result fromFile querySpec resultCollection sqlString dict connection lobLocator buffer file aBuffer temp|

    conSpec := ( AbtDatabaseConnectionSpec forDbmClass: #AbtOdbcDatabaseManager dataSourceName: ‘dsName’).

    logonSpec := ( AbtDatabaseLogonSpec
    id: ‘userId’
    password: ‘pass’
    server: ‘server’ ).
    conSpec connectUsingAlias: ‘sampleAlias’
    logonSpec: logonSpec.

    connection := AbtDbmSystem activeDatabaseConnection.
    connection autoCommit: true.
    table := (connection openTableNamed: ‘blob_table’).
    clobs := AbtOdbcVarBinaryField new.

    file := CwFileSelectionPrompter new
    searchPath: ‘C:\Temp’;
    fileName: ‘*.*’;
    prompt.
    (file = ‘*.prn’ or: [file = nil])
    ifTrue: [^ self].

    fileStream := CfsReadFileStream open: file.
    fileStream isCfsError
    ifTrue: [^System message: ‘Unable to open file ‘ , file , ‘. ‘ , fileStream message].
    clobs := (fileStream contents) asByteArray.

    oc := OrderedCollection new.
    newRow := table emptyRow.
    newRow
    at: #ID put: 131;
    at:#SUBJECT put: ‘TEST’;
    at: #BODY put: clobs.
    oc add: newRow.
    table addRows: oc.

    fileStream close

  2. Felix Franz says:

    After importing the virtual machine into VirtualBox 4.1.4 on the mac, I get the following error message if I hit “Start”. I don’t use VirtualBox that often, maybe its an error in my installation …

    “Failed to open a session for the virtual machine VAST-Ub1204.

    Failed to open/create the internal network ‘HostInterfaceNetworking-Intel(R) 82566MM-Gigabit-Netzwerkverbindung’ (VERR_INTNET_FLT_IF_NOT_FOUND).

    Failed to attach the network LUN (VERR_INTNET_FLT_IF_NOT_FOUND).

    Result Code: NS_ERROR_FAILURE (0x80004005)
    Component: Console
    Interface: IConsole {1968b7d3-e3bf-4ceb-99e0-cb7c913317bb}

  3. Felix Franz says:

    forget my last comment, the image is up and running. All I did was open the Settings for this image and deactivate and re-activate the first network interface. Now its time to explore VAST …

Leave a Reply

