VA852 – Ubuntu 12.04.1/64, Installation and Locale

Perhaps I’ve not written it down. Just some notes how to install VA 8.52 under Ubuntu and get a German locale and make it work at all.

I just installed the Ubuntu 12.04.1/64Bit from disc and with that system you will not even be able to start the installer of VA, because its a 32bit application.

Therefore you have to install the 32 support libraries via:

sudo apt-get ia32-libs

which install quite a lot of stuff to your system.

Then I wanted to change the locale to the actual german one via:

sudo locale-gen de_DE@euro

and I change the file “/etc/environment” and “/etc/default/locale” (if present) and add/change the LANG entry to:

LANG = “de_DE.ISO8859-15@euro”

Then I did a reboot and I was able to enter german umlauts in VA.

Hello Joachim :-)) !!!!

This entry was posted in Smalltalk and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to VA852 – Ubuntu 12.04.1/64, Installation and Locale

  1. Joachim says:

    Hi Marten,

    I also have Umlauts in action using the same steps as you describe them. But I see a few littlte itches and problems, the most obvious being that ctrl-s and other ctrl-keys don’t work. Some, however, do, like ctrl-r. Could you test one thing for me? What does vast write to your console when it starts? Does it claim to keep the locale unchanged, or does it say it switches to C? I have the impression that this tiny difference matters, but I haven’t found a pattern yet. Maybe it is only caused by the difference between iso-8859-1 and iso-8859-15

    Joachim

  2. Joachim says:

    Well, actually my approach is a little bit different. I am not using a central place like files in /etc/ to set the locale, because I want the rest of the system to use utf-8. So I do an eport LANG=de_DE.ISO8859-1 in the abt startup script to only change the locale for vast. but that shouldnt make much of a difference…

Leave a Reply

