VASmalltalk – emsrv under Windows: usability at its worst

With the new 8.5 I started to install the new stuff and as a special task I wanted to use emsrv under Windows and not simple file I/O. I know I made that stuff running years ago – but then I preferred to use Linux for that task, because it was much simpler there than…

With the new 8.5 I started to install the new stuff and as a special task I wanted to use emsrv under Windows and not simple file I/O. I know I made that stuff running years ago – but then I preferred to use Linux for that task, because it was much simpler there than under Windows.

I could make a long story, but the result was frustrating: I was not able to make it work. The online documentation somewhere stops around Windows NT/2000, XP and Vista – but considering the fact, that I have a desktop system (Win 7 Ultimate/64 bit) I was not able to make emsrv run.

I do not ask about running it as a service – no, even from command line this beast is not working without any help. The good thing is: no error message, nothing. It simply fails – or perhaps the error messages are always draw in this new windows, which disappears at once.

One of the things I hate about the Windows Team Foundation Server is, that you need a too much time to make it run.

With emsrv under Windows you have the same problems.

Why is it sooooo difficult to write a server task …. ???

Not to forget: this is not a 8.5 specific problem.

Responses to “VASmalltalk – emsrv under Windows: usability at its worst”

  1. Louis Andriese

    Marten,

    Can I conclude from later on your blog (in German)that you managed to make it work?
    If so, could I ask you to post the steps in English and reference to them from this blog entry?

    Kind regards,

    Louis

    1. schrievkrom

      Yes, I’ll see, what I can do. The best thing would be to make a screencast about this topic …

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.